Shannon Staub |

Shannon Staub

Sharon Staub

Shannon Staub is on the Sarasota Board of County Commissioners. She is the chair of the Peace River Water Authority and represents the Commission on the Criminal Justice Commission.

She also was appointed to represent the Florida Association of Counties at the Century Commissions’ Water Policy Congress, which will work to develop a comprehensive set of sustainable water use and supply action steps.

Ms. Staub is a member of the Steering Committee for the SW Florida Regional Stewardship Alliance, and is a member of the Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee with the National Association of Counties.

Ms. Staub also one of 12 county commissioners nationally to serve on the Green Government Initiative advisory board, a National Association of Counties program that helps counties throughout the country develop and implement environmentally sustainable programs and practices for air quality, energy efficiency, renewable and alternative energy, green buildings, water quality and land use.

Ms. Staub was named Commissioner of the Year in 2006 by the Florida Local Environmental Resource Agencies (FLERA) for outstanding leadership in local environmental protection.

She received the Richard L. McLaughlin Volunteer of the Year Award for District 7 in 2006 from the Florida Economic Development Council. The award recognizes outstanding service to the local community and the state in supporting economic development initiatives.

A 2003 graduate of Leadership Florida, Ms. Staub served for four years as Gov. Jeb Bush’s appointee on the Legislative Committee on Intergovernmental Relations, the only legislative committee with county commission representation.

Ms. Staub received the Legislative Advocate Award in 2003 from the Sarasota Farm Bureau. She received the Bob Graham Award in 2002, which is given to a government official by the Florida Lake Management Society for her advocacy of water issues. In 1999, she was presented the Grassroots Leadership Award by the Nature Conservancy.